What is Durga Saptashati and Why You Should Read it?

What is Durga Saptashati ?

Durga Saptashati is a Hindu religious text or scripture describing the victory of the Maa Durga over the demon Mahishasura. It is a story of triumph over evil.

It is part of the Markandeya Purana, written by sage Markandeya.

It is considered to be one of the most important texts in Hinduism.

Durga Saptashati is a collection of hymns, shlokas or verses that praise the Hindu goddess Durga.

How many shlokas are there in Durga Saptashati?

Sapt means seven and shat means hundred,
so, saptashat means 700 verses,
and because of that the whole composition is known as Durga Saptashati.

How many chapters or paath are there in Saptashati?

Durga Saptashati is divided into 13 chapters, means it has 13 Paath.

It is a part of Devi Mahatmya,
which also includes Kavach, Argala and Keelak,
along with 13 paath of Saptashati.

Why You Should Read Durga Saptashati?

There are many reasons why you should read Durga Saptashati.

First, it is a beautiful and inspiring religious story about
how good wins over evil,
how devi maa protects her devotees,
that will fill you with faith and devotion.

Second, it teaches important lessons about life, such as the importance of courage, strength, and perseverance.

Third, it can help you to connect with the Goddess Durga and to receive her blessings.

If you are looking for a text that will enrich your spiritual life, then it is highly recommend that you Durga Saptashati.

It is a text that has the power to transform your life for the better.

What are the benefits of reading Durga Saptashati?

Here are some of the benefits of reading Durga Saptashati:

Spiritual Benefits

Durga Saptashati is a powerful source of spiritual inspiration.

It is a beautiful and inspiring text that can help you to connect with your spiritual side.

It can help you to develop a deeper understanding of the Goddess Durga and connect with the divine feminine energy.

During Difficult Phase of Life

It can help you to overcome challenges and obstacles in your life.

Durga Saptashati tells the story of how Durga defeated the demon Mahishasura, who was terrorizing the world. So, it is a story of triumph over evil. By reading Durga Saptashati, you can draw on Durga’s strength and courage to help you overcome your own obstacles in life.

It is believed to help in developing a positive attitude and getting rid of negative thoughts.

It can provide you with guidance and support during the difficult phase of life, so that you can live more meaningful and fulfilling life.

For Personal and Social Life

It can help you to find inner peace and strength.

Durga Saptashati is a sacred text that is believed to bring good luck and prosperity to those who read it.

It is said that by reading Durga Saptashati, you can improve your health, wealth, and relationships.

Reading Durga Saptashati daily is said to bring peace and happiness in the life of the reader.

Additionally, It also helps in improving concentration and memory power.

Hindu Tradition and Heritage

Durga Saptashati is a part of the Hindu tradition, and it can help you to connect with your Hindu heritage.

By reading Durga Saptashati, you can learn more about the Hindu goddess Durga, and you can deepen your understanding of Hinduism.

It is an essential part of the 9-day Navratri celebrations.

Chanting verses from Durga Saptashati is mandatory during the powerful Chandi Homa, which is done to ensure good health and victory over enemies.

Where Can You Read Devi Mahatmya and Saptashati?

If you are interested in reading Durga Saptashati, there are many resources available online as well as in libraries.

You can also find books, video, audio recordings and hindi translations of the text, as Devi Mahatmya is originally written in Sanskrit.

In this website, you can read all 13 chapters of Durga Saptashati, 700 shlokas and their easy to understand Hindi meaning.

So, to start reading Durga Saptashati, please visit the first chapter –

Durga Spatashati Chapter – 1

For Saptashati Chapter Index, please click the link –

Durga Sptashati Index